IBEW 2017 Founders’ Scholarship

February 13, 2017 | By | Reply More

To honor the first President of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Henry Miller, and nine other individuals who helped found the IBEW on November 28, 1891 in St. Louis, the current Executive Officers are proud to offer the annual 2017 IBEW Founders’ Scholarship Award.

This scholarship is available to dedicated wiremen and linemen of the IBEW who have been in continuous good standing since May 2013, who are looking to further their education to benefit the electrical industry.

Along with the application form, all candidates must submit:

– A recommendation, in writing, by his/her Local Union Business Manager.
– At least two letters of recommendations.
– Copies of all academic transcripts, including high school, college, apprenticeship or other educational development programs.
– A completed resume outlining academic and work history.
o Additional information about what to include in the resume can be found in the application’s Rules for Entry section.
– Submit a 250-500 word essay discussing the topic of “How I will Use My Founders’ Scholarship to Benefit the IBEW and the Electrical Industry.”

The award is for up to $200 per semester credit hour or $134 per trimester credit hour at any accredited college or university for use toward an associate’s, bachelor’s or postgraduate degree. The maximum distribution is $24,000 per person over a period not to exceed eight years.

The official IBEW announcement and letter from International President Lonnie Stephenson can be viewed here. The application form with all rules and responsibilities is available for download and is due by May 1, 2017.

The independent IBEW Founders’ Scholarship Committee will select the winners based on the following criteria: academic achievement and potential, character, leadership, social awareness and career goals.

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Community, IBEW Local 104

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.